Call for Papers: Transformations in Authoritarianism and in Resilience Mechanisms of Human Rights in the Arab Region

The Arab region continues to confront the same fundamental challenges that had set off its revolts more than a decade ago. In fact, the challenges of political and economic development and national integration have grown so much so that they have even reached Tunisia—the exception among first-wave states—and the concept of the nation-state itself has been thrown into doubt in countries such as Syria, Yemen, Libya, Iraq, and Sudan. These developments potentially carry the gravest human rights implications since the Universal Declaration of Human Rights was issued in 1948.

Throughout the last decade, war crimes and crimes against humanity—once exceptions seen in this or that Arab country—have been normalised. The region has become an open arena for armed interventions by Iran, Turkey, Russia, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates, and paramilitary mercenaries sponsored by Russia, Turkey, and the UAE. Military interventions launched by Israel and the United States before the Arab Uprisings continue as well, with a marked and ongoing expansion of Israel’s influential role in supporting authoritarian regimes in the Arab region.

Rowaq Arabi, a peer reviewed journal dedicated to human rights studies, is soliciting research papers exploring topics of transformations in both authoritarianism and in the resilience of human rights in the region for a special issue. The journal calls for the submission of papers containing original research (in Arabic or English) drawing on interdisciplinary approaches in social sciences, humanities, and law. Papers of between 5,000 and 7,000 words should be submitted to rowaq.editors@cihrs.org no later than midnight on 2 October 2022 (CET). The papers should be submitted in two files: an anonymised full manuscript, without the author’s name, preceded by a 150-word abstract, and a separate cover page including the paper title, author’s name, affiliation, and paper abstract, all along with the author’s CV. The best, most relevant papers will be sent to blind peer-reviewing. Authors of approved manuscripts will receive financial remuneration upon publication. Papers that do not follow Rowaq Arabi’s style guidelines—available here—will not be considered for peer-reviewing.

Rowaq Arabi suggests the following research subtopics and welcomes other proposals salient to the main theme:

  • The nature of authoritarianism in the Arab region and the transformations it has undergone in the past decade.
  • The nature of military dictatorships in the Arab region and the ‘new’ structures of civilian-military relations in Egypt, Algeria, and Sudan.
  • Lessons to be learned for democrats in the Arab region from the failure of democratic transition in Tunisia.
  • Explorations on the failure of political and social protest movements emerging in the two waves of Arab Uprisings in regards to forming effective political parties and articulating programmes responsive to economic and political issues.
  • Islamist and secular political parties in the Arab region in light of mounting identity-based struggles and sharp polarisation around ‘social values’.
  • Challenges to managing religious, cultural, and ethnic diversity in the Arab region and the concept of the unified nation-state.
  • Impacts of economic, political, and military cooperation with Russia and China on human rights in the Arab region.
  • New transformations in the mechanisms of civil society organisations in the Arab region facing human rights violations.

To read more about Rowaq Arabi, its history in print since 1996 and its ongoing online transition, in addition to its publication guidelines, please refer to this link.

Read this post in: العربية

Back to top button

دعوة لتقديم أبحاث: التحولات في السلطوية وآليات صمود حقوق الإنسان في المنطقة العربية

لا تزال المنطقة العربية تواجه التحديات الأساسية نفسها التي أشعلت شرارة ثوراتها منذ أكثر من عقد من الزمن. في حقيقة الأمر، لقد تطورت تحديات التحولات السياسية والتنمية الاقتصادية والإدماج الوطني، إلى حد أنها وصلت إلى تونس – والتي مثلت استثناءً بين دول الموجة الأولى. كما أصبح مفهوم الدولة القومية نفسه محل شك، في بلدان مثل سوريا واليمن وليبيا والعراق والسودان. ومن المحتمل أن تكون الأثار المترتبة على هذه التطورات هي الأخطر على حقوق الإنسان، منذ صدور الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان في عام 1948.

على مدار العقد الماضي، جرى التطبيع مع جرائم الحرب والجرائم ضد الإنسانية، والتي كانت تعد استثناءات في بعض البلدان العربية. كما أصبحت المنطقة ساحة مفتوحة للتدخلات المسلحة من جانب إيران وتركيا وروسيا والسعودية والإمارات، والمرتزقة شبه العسكريين الممولين من جانب روسيا وتركيا والإمارات أيضًا. كما تتواصل التدخلات العسكرية التي أطلقتها إسرائيل والولايات المتحدة قبل الانتفاضات العربية، إلى جانب التوسع الملحوظ والمستمر لدور إسرائيل المؤثر في دعم الأنظمة السلطوية في المنطقة العربية.

«رواق عربي» دورية بحثية محكمة متخصصة في دراسات حقوق الإنسان، تفتح الباب لتقديم أوراق بحثية من أجل عدد خاص يستكشف موضوعات التحولات في كل من منظومة الاستبداد وكذا آليات صمود حركة حقوق الإنسان في المنطقة. وتدعو الدورية إلى تقديم أوراق بحثية أصلية (باللغة العربية أو الإنجليزية) تعتمد على منهجيات متقاطعة التخصصات بين العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية والقانون. وعليه، تُرسل الأوراق البحثية، في حدود 5000 إلى 7000 كلمة، إلى البريد الإليكتروني التالي: rowaq.editors@cihrs.org في موعد أقصاه منتصف ليلة 2 أكتوبر 2022 (توقيت وسط أوروبا). وينبغي أن تتألف الأوراق البحثية المُقدمة من ملفين منفصلين: نص البحث الكامل مسبوق بخلاصة من 150 كلمة مع إخفاء هوية المؤلف، وصفحة غلاف واحدة تحتوي على عنوان البحث واسم وبيانات المؤلف والخلاصة نفسها، بالإضافة إلى ملف منفصل للسيرة الذاتية للباحث. سيتم انتقاء أفضل الأبحاث وأكثرها صلة بالموضوع، وإرسالها إلى لجنة تحكيم. وبمجرد النشر؛ سيحصل المؤلفون على مكافأة مالية مقابل مساهماتهم تلك. وأخيرًا يُرجى مراعاة أن الأبحاث المقدمة التي لا تلتزم، بدقة، بقواعد الكتابة الخاصة برواق عربي، لن يتم النظر إليها.

في هذا السياق، تقترح رواق عربي الموضوعات الفرعية التالية كمجالات للبحث، مؤكدة ترحيبها بالمقترحات الأخرى ذات الصلة بالموضوع الرئيسي لهذه الدعوة:

  • طبيعة السلطوية في المنطقة العربية والتحولات التي مرت بها في العقد الماضي.
  • طبيعة الديكتاتوريات العسكرية في المنطقة العربية والهياكل «الجديدة» للعلاقات المدنية/العسكرية في مصر والجزائر والسودان.
  • الدروس المستفادة للديمقراطيين في المنطقة العربية من فشل التحول الديمقراطي في تونس.
  • استكشاف أسباب فشل الحركات الاحتجاجية السياسية والاجتماعية الناشئة، في موجتي الانتفاضات العربية، في تشكيل أحزاب سياسية فاعلة وصياغة برامج تستجيب للقضايا الاقتصادية والسياسية.
  • الأحزاب السياسية الإسلامية والعلمانية في المنطقة العربية، في ظل تصاعد الصراعات القائمة على الهوية والاستقطاب الحاد حول «القيم الاجتماعية».
  • تحديات إدارة التنوع الديني والثقافي والعرقي في المنطقة العربية ومفهوم الدولة القومية الموحدة.
  • تأثير التعاون الاقتصادي والسياسي والعسكري مع روسيا والصين على حقوق الإنسان في المنطقة العربية.
  • التحولات الجديدة في آليات منظمات المجتمع المدني في المنطقة العربية في مواجهة انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان.

لقراءة المزيد عن رواق عربي وتاريخ الدورية وطباعتها منذ 1996 ونسختها الإلكترونية الحالية، فضلًا عن الأدلة الإرشادية الخاصة بالنشر في الدورية، يُرجى الرجوع لهذا الرابط.

Read this post in: English

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى