Call for Papers: The Political Economy of Authoritarianism in the Arab Region

In their book ‘Economic Origins of Dictatorship and Democracy’, Daron Acemoglu and James Robinson (2009) argue that different political institutions differently allocate political power and resources, hence the understanding that authoritarian regimes are expensive to run. Engaging with this hypothesis of resource allocation in politics, one may find the Arab region an excellent environment to further critically discuss the relation between the economy and authoritarianism, including the point at which Arab dictatorships may become too expensive to sustain.

It is indeed highly challenging to afford running an oppressive regime, and even more challenging to sustain it for a long period. In this context, and given the ‘failure’ of democratisation in the Arab region, the sustainability of oppression appears to be a dynamic that needs further examination in this part of the world. In a region with strikingly different economic models varying from those characterized by rich resources and scarce labour, where regimes can afford an economic bargain with their societies in which welfare is exchanged for  political freedoms (i.e., the Gulf States), and others characterized by limited natural resources and abundant labour (most other Arab states in varying degrees) that deem they cannot afford such a bargain and find it more affordable to expand their security apparatus.

Rowaq Arabi, a peer reviewed journal dedicated to human rights studies, is seeking research papers exploring topics  pertaining to the economic sustainability of political oppression in the Arab region, highlighting the similarities and differences among coexisting models of authoritarianism, as well as internal and external support mechanisms. The journal calls for the submission of papers containing original research (in Arabic or English) drawing on interdisciplinary approaches in social sciences, humanities, and law. Papers of between 5,000 and 7,000 words should be submitted to rowaq.editors@cihrs.org no later than midnight on 13 February 2023 (CET). The papers should be submitted in two files: an anonymised full manuscript with a 150-word abstract without the author’s name, and a separate file for the cover page including the paper title, author’s name, affiliation, and paper abstract. Both files should be submitted along with the author’s CV. The best and most relevant papers will be sent to blind peer-reviewing. Authors of approved manuscripts will receive financial remuneration upon publication. Papers that do not follow Rowaq Arabi’s style guidelines—available here—will not be considered for peer-reviewing.

Rowaq Arabi suggests the following inexhaustive list of research subtopics and welcomes other proposals salient to the main theme:

  • The rentier economy as an anti-democratising force inside and outside the Gulf states.
  • The political economy of the Qatar-Gulf crisis of 2017 and its aftermath, and how it influences today’s foreign policies of Arab states.
  • The degree of (in)consistency in authoritarian development planning in the Arab region since independence.
  • The differences in socio-political bargains of social contracts under authoritarianism; between past models of post-independence ‘developmental states’ and current neoliberal ones.
  • Military economic empires as direct violators of human rights and indirect forces against democratisation.
  • The role of business elites as beneficiaries of authoritarianism and supporters of its sustainability.
  • Prospects of democratic transition in non-energy-exporting regimes under the legacy of highly corrupt and nontransparent large public sectors.
  • Expanding the security apparatus rather than building social welfare infrastructure as an affordable authoritarian strategy for ‘stability’ and managing discontent.
  • The impact of growing economic cooperation between Russia and China from one side, and Arab states from the other, on the rise of authoritarianism and violations of human rights in the region.
  • Multinational corporations as human rights violators and supporters of Arab authoritarian regimes.
  • How and why international financial institutions such as the IMF, World Bank and regional development banks support authoritarianism in the Arab region.
  • The political economy of the World Cup and major sports tournaments in the Gulf. Are such tournaments steps toward ‘international liberal values’ or are they ‘whitewashing’ persistent human rights violations?
  • Is the current global economic recession an obstacle against attaining political freedoms in the Arab region in the near future, or is it a window for concessions?
  • The use of ‘economic collapse’ by authoritarian regimes and their beneficiary elites as fear-mongering propaganda against democratisation.
  • The rise in human rights violations in relation to recent expansions in export-oriented cash crops agriculture and low-cost industrialisation, where economic growth in several Arab states continues to reinforce political authoritarianism.
  • Are there viable alternatives in other parts of the Global South to the current political economies in the Arab region?

To read more about Rowaq Arabi, its history in print since 1996 and its ongoing online transition, in addition to its publication guidelines, please refer to this link.

Read this post in: العربية

Back to top button

دعوة لتقديم أبحاث: الاقتصاد السياسي للسلطوية في المنطقة العربية

في كتابهما «الأصول الاقتصادية للديكتاتورية والديمقراطية»، يجادل دارون عاصم أوغلو وجيمس روبنسون (2009) أن المؤسسات السياسية المختلفة تختلف في كيفية توزيع السلطات السياسية والموارد المالية، وكنتيجة لذلك فإن الأنظمة السلطوية تعد مكلفة في إدارتها أكثر من الأنظمة الديمقراطية. من خلال الاشتباك مع فرضية تخصيص الموارد الاقتصادية في السياسة، قد يجد المرء أن المنطقة العربية تُمثل بيئة ممتازة لطرح المزيد من النقاشات النقدية للعلاقة بين الاقتصاد والسلطوية، بما في ذلك النقطة التي قد يصبح عندها الحفاظ على الديكتاتوريات العربية باهظ الثمن.

في واقع الأمر، من الصعب للغاية تحمل تكلفة إدارة النظام القمعي، والأكثر صعوبة هو الحفاظ عليه لفترة طويلة. في هذا السياق، ونظرًا لـ«فشل الدمقرطة» في المنطقة العربية؛ يبدو أن استدامة القمع ديناميكية لا تزال بحاجة لمزيد من الدراسة في هذا الجزء من العالم. فالمنطقة العربية تحتوي على نماذج اقتصادية مختلفة بشكل لافت للنظر، منها تلك التي تتميز بالموارد الغنية وندرة العمالة، بما قد يتيح للأنظمة القدرة على تحمل «المساومة الاقتصادية» مع مجتمعاتها، يتم بموجبها منح الرفاه مقابل الحريات السياسية (دول الخليج مثلًا)، في مقابل أنظمة أخرى تتميز بالعمالة الوفيرة ومحدودية الموارد الطبيعية (معظم الدول العربية الأخرى بدرجات متفاوتة) ترى أنها عاجزة عن تحمل مثل هذه المساومات، وتجد أنه من الأسهل الاستثمار في توسيع أجهزتها الأمنية.

رواق عربي، هي دورية بحثية محكمة متخصصة في دراسات حقوق الإنسان، تفتح الباب لتقديم أوراق بحثية من أجل عدد خاص يستكشف موضوعات الاستدامة الاقتصادية للقمع السياسي في المنطقة العربية، وتسلط الضوء على أوجه التشابه والاختلاف بين نماذج الاستبداد المتعددة التي تتعايش جنبًا إلى جنب بالمنطقة، فضلًا عن آليات الدعم الداخلي والخارجي لها. وعليه تقدم الأوراق البحثية في حدود 5000 إلى 7000 كلمة إلى البريد الإليكتروني التالي: rowaq.editors@cihrs.org في موعد أقصاه منتصف ليل 13 فبراير 2023 (توقيت وسط أوروبا). وينبغي أن تتألف الأوراق البحثية المُقدمة من ملفين منفصلين: نص البحث الكامل مسبوق بخلاصة من 150 كلمة مع إخفاء هوية المؤلف، وصفحة غلاف واحدة تحتوي على عنوان البحث واسم وبيانات المؤلف والخلاصة نفسها، بالإضافة لملف منفصل يحتوي على السيرة الذاتية للباحث. بعد ذلك سيتم انتقاء أفضل الأبحاث، وأكثرها صلة بالموضوع، ليتم إرسالها إلى لجنة التحكيم. وبمجرد النشر؛ سيحصل المؤلفون على مكافأة مالية مقابل مساهماتهم تلك. وأخيرًا يُرجى مراعاة أن الأبحاث المقدمة التي لا تلتزم بقواعد الكتابة الخاصة برواق عربي بدقة، والتي يمكن الاطلاع عليها من هذا الرابط، سيتم تجاهلها.

ارتباطًا بما سبق، تقترح رواق عربي الموضوعات الفرعية التالية لتكون مجالًا للبحث، فيما تُرحب بالمقترحات الأخرى ذات الصلة بالموضوع الرئيسي لهذه الدعوة:

  • الاقتصاد الريعي كقوة مناهضة للديمقراطية داخل دول الخليج وتأثيره خارجها.
  • الاقتصاد السياسي للأزمة القطرية-الخليجية عام 2017 وتوابعها، وكيفية تأثيرها في السياسات الخارجية للدول العربية اليوم.
  • درجة (عدم)الاتساق في التخطيط التنموي داخل الأنظمة السلطوية في المنطقة العربية منذ الاستقلال.
  • الاختلافات في المساومات السياسية والاقتصادية للعقود الاجتماعية في ظل الحكم السلطوي؛ بين النماذج السابقة لـ «الدولة التنموية» في مرحلة ما بعد الاستقلال، والنماذج النيوليبرالية الحالية.
  • الإمبراطوريات الاقتصادية العسكرية باعتبارها منتهك مباشر لحقوق الإنسان، وقوى مضادة للتحول الديمقراطي.
  • دور نخب مجتمع الأعمال كمستفيدين من السلطوية وداعمين لاستدامتها.
  • آفاق التحول الديمقراطي في الأنظمة غير المُصدِّرة للطاقة، في ظل إرث قطاعات عمومية كبيرة شديدة الفساد وغير شفافة.
  • التوسع في الإنفاق على الأجهزة الأمنية كبديل عن البنية التحتية للرعاية الاجتماعية كاستراتيجية سلطوية أقل تكلفة تهدف لتحقيق «الاستقرار» وإدارة الاستياء الشعبي.
  • تأثير التعاون الاقتصادي المتنامي بين روسيا والصين من جهة والدول العربية من جهة أخرى على صعود السلطوية وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في المنطقة.
  • الشركات متعددة الجنسيات كمنتهكة لحقوق الإنسان وداعمة للأنظمة السلطوية العربية.
  • كيف ولماذا تدعم المؤسسات المالية الدولية، مثل صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي وبنوك التنمية الإقليمية، السلطوية في المنطقة العربية.
  • الاقتصاد السياسي لكأس العالم والبطولات الرياضية الكبرى في الخليج. هل تمثل هذه البطولات خطوة نحو «القيم الليبرالية الدولية» أم أنها مجرد «تبييض» لسجلات الانتهاكات المستمرة لحقوق الإنسان؟
  • هل الركود الاقتصادي العالمي الحالي عقبة أمام تحقيق الحريات السياسية في المنطقة العربية في المستقبل القريب أم أنه ربما يكون نافذة لتقديم تلك الأنظمة بعض التنازلات نحو الديمقراطية؟
  • استخدام فزاعة «الانهيار الاقتصادي» من جانب الأنظمة السلطوية والنخب المستفيدة منها، كدعاية للتخويف ضد التحول الديمقراطي.
  • زيادة انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الناتجة عن التوسعات الأخيرة في زراعة «المحاصيل النقدية» الموجهة للتصدير وكذلك التوسعات في «التصنيع منخفض التكلفة»، حيث يستمر «النمو الاقتصادي» في العديد من الدول العربية في تعزيز السلطوية السياسية.
  • هل توجد بدائل «اقتصاد سياسي» أخرى في عالم الجنوب يمكن الاستفادة منها بالمنطقة العربية كبديل عن النموذج الحالي؟

لقراءة المزيد عن رواق عربي وتاريخ الدورية وطباعتها منذ 1996 ونسختها الإلكترونية الحالية، فضلًا عن الأدلة الإرشادية الخاصة بالنشر في الدورية، يُرجى الرجوع لهذا الرابط.

Read this post in: English

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى