Call for Papers: Gender, Intersectionality, and Political Change in Contemporary Middle East Conflicts

The Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region has among the highest documented rates of gender-based violence and discrimination. Despite the long history of struggle by feminist movements and women rights defenders, women in the region still suffer from persistent and multifaceted forms of discrimination and violence, which rely on a nexus of political, legal, social, and cultural norms and as well as power structures.

Since the beginning of the Arab Uprisings in late 2010 and early 2011, greater attention has been given to gender and women’s issues in the MENA region. The uprisings opened up spaces for wider and deeper societal debate and dialogue on gender equality, women’s presence in the public sphere, and gender-based violence, among other issues. At the same time, the uprisings inspired new and increasingly diverse discourses and tools of engagement for women to push for social and political change. On one hand, arguments can be made that there has been progress or improvements in regards to women’s situations throughout the region. On the other hand, there has been a documented rise in political and social violence and discrimination against women in the region.

Although gender scholarship has come under scrutiny since the 1970s, critical approaches show that there remain unresolved epistemological, methodological, and political issues that must be addressed, especially with regard to gender knowledge production on – and in – the MENA region. The uprisings and their aftermaths raise many research questions, shedding light on the need to adopt new frameworks, perspectives and tools of analysis, in order to engage with – and understand – the complex and ongoing changes on the ground. In particular, questions regarding gender, conflict, and political and social change are timely and urgent, warranting further efforts from researchers across a variety of disciplines pertaining to the Middle East and North Africa.

Under the theme ‘Gender, Intersectionality, and Political Change in Contemporary Middle East Conflicts’, Rowaq Arabi, a double-blind peer-reviewed journal specialised in human rights studies, calls for original research exploring critical approaches to the study of gender and authoritarianism in the MENA region. Papers of 5000-7000 words should be submitted by email to rowaq.editors@cihrs.org no later than midnight of 17 October 2021.

For questions concerning research themes, contact guest editor Dr Kholoud Saber Barakat by email at kholoud.barakat@uclouvain.be. Submissions should consist of two separate files: an anonymised complete manuscript, and a cover page that has the manuscript’s title, author’s name and details, and a 150-word abstract. Articles with the most relevant content and of the highest quality will be selected and sent for peer-review. Once published, authors will be financially compensated for their contributions.

Rowaq Arabi suggests the following sub-topics for research, while welcoming other suggestions relevant to the main theme of this call:

  • The relationship between political authoritarianism and gender-based violence and discrimination.
  • Rising gender-based and sexual violence in Arab societies, and states’ responses to it. This may include, but is not limited to, analysis of new legislation and governmental entities.
  • Gendered political violence against women political activists and human rights defenders in the MENA region.
  • Gendered prosecutions of freedom of expression on social media.
  • Gender-based violence and discrimination against women from minority groups in the region.
  • The impact of increased militarisation on women’s situations and gender issues.
  • Collective actions, new initiatives and social mobilisations in response to gender-based violence and discrimination.
  • The weaponisation of gender and women’s bodies in armed conflicts.
  • Women’s modes of resistance to violence in conflict and post-conflict settings in the region.
  • Women’s engagements in political mobilisation during and after the Arab Uprisings, and their engagements in political transition processes.
  • Gender issues and women’s rights violations within civil society itself.
  • The recent discourses of Islamist groups and religious institutions on gender and women’s issues.
  • Political instrumentalisation of gender discourses and women’s rights with authoritarian regimes.
  • Recent debates on family laws in MENA countries.
  • The process of, and attempts to, ‘gender’ human rights discourses and movements in the region after 2011 (e.g., discussing the extent to which human rights organisations /movements are becoming more active in – and sensitive to – women’s rights and gender issues after 2011).

To read more about Rowaq Arabi, its history in print since 1996 and its ongoing online transition, in addition to our publication guidelines, please refer to this link.

Read this post in: العربية

Show More
Back to top button

دعوة لتقديم أبحاث: النوع الاجتماعي، التقاطعية، والتغييرات السياسية في صراعات الشرق الأوسط المعاصرة

تعاني منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا من أعلى المعدلات العالمية الموثقة للعنف والتمييز القائمين على النوع الاجتماعي. ورغم التاريخ الطويل للنضال من جانب الحركات النسوية والمدافعات عن حقوق المرأة، لا تزال النساء في المنطقة يعانين من أشكال مستمرة ومتعددة الأوجه من التمييز والعنف، والمدعومة بمجموعة من المعايير السياسية والقانونية والاجتماعية والثقافية، بالإضافة لارتكازها على هياكل القوى الجندرية.

منذ بداية الانتفاضات العربية في أواخر عام 2010 وأوائل عام 2011، حظت قضايا النوع الاجتماعي والمرأة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا باهتمام أكبر. إذ أتاحت الانتفاضات مساحات للنقاش والحوار المجتمعي الأوسع والأعمق حول عدد من القضايا الجندرية، بما فيما ذلك المساواة بين الجنسين، ووجود المرأة في المجال العام، والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي. في الوقت نفسه، ألهمت الانتفاضات خطابات وأدوات اشتباك جديدة ومتنوعة ومتعددة استخدمتها النساء في الضغط من أجل التغيير الاجتماعي والسياسي. من ناحية، يمكن الإشارة إلى ما يمكن أن يعد تقدمًا أو تحسنًا فيما يتعلق بأوضاع المرأة في أماكن مختلفة من المنطقة، ومن ناحية أخرى، هناك ارتفاع موثق في التمييز والعنف السياسيين والاجتماعيين بحق المرأة في المنطقة.

ورغم خضوع مجال الدارسات الجندرية للتدقيق منذ سبعينيات القرن الماضي، إلا أن المقاربات النقدية تظهر أن هناك عدة قضايا معرفية ومنهجية وسياسية مفتوحة لا تزال بحاجة إلى المعالجة، لاسيما فيما يتعلق بإنتاج المعرفة المتعلقة بالقضايا الجندرية عن –ومِن داخل– منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. تثير الانتفاضات وتداعياتها العديد من الأسئلة البحثية، وتسلط الضوء على مدى الحاجة لاعتماد أطر نظرية وتوجهات بحثية وأدوات تحليل جديدة تهدف للتعامل مع –ومحاولة فهم– التغييرات المعقدة والمستمرة على الأرض. على وجه الخصوص، تعد الأسئلة المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي، والصراع، والتغييرات السياسية والاجتماعية أسئلة عاجلة يطرحها الوضع الحالي، وتحتاج لتضافر مجهودات الباحثين من التخصصات المتنوعة المعنية بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.

تحت عنوان «النوع الاجتماعي، التقاطعية، والتغييرات السياسية في صراعات الشرق الأوسط المعاصرة»، تتقدم دورية رواق عربي، وهي دورية فصلية محكّمة تُعنى بدراسات حقوق الإنسان، بدعوة لتقديم أبحاث أصلية توظف المناهج النقدية لدراسة النوع الاجتماعي والاستبداد في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. وعليه تقدم الأوراق البحثية في حدود 5000 إلى 7000 كلمة إلى البريد الإليكتروني التالي: rowaq.editors@cihrs.org في موعد أقصاه منتصف ليلة 17 أكتوبر 2021.

للأسئلة المتعلقة بموضوعات البحث، رجاء التواصل مع المحررة الضيفة الدكتورة خلود صابر بركات عبر البريد الإلكتروني على kholoud.barakat@uclouvain.be. يجب أن تتألف الأوراق البحثية المُقدمة من ملفين منفصلين: نص البحث الكامل مع إخفاء هوية المؤلف، وصفحة غلاف تحتوي على عنوان البحث واسم وبيانات المؤلف والخلاصة التي تتألف من 150 كلمة. سيتم انتقاء أفضل الأبحاث وأكثرها صلة بالموضوع، ليتم إرسالها إلى لجنة التحكيم. وبمجرد النشر؛ سيحصل المؤلفون على مكافأة مالية نظير مساهماتهم.

تقترح رواق عربي الموضوعات الفرعية التالية لتكون مجالًا للبحث، فيما تُرحب بالمقترحات الأخرى ذات الصلة بالموضوع الرئيسي لهذه الدعوة:

  • العلاقة بين الاستبداد السياسي والتمييز والعنف القائمين على النوع الاجتماعي.
  • تصاعد العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي والجنسي في المجتمعات العربية، وردود أفعال الأنظمة عليه. قد يشمل ذلك، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، تحليل التشريعات والكيانات (المجالس) الحكومية الجديدة.
  • العنف السياسي القائم على النوع الاجتماعي بحق الناشطات السياسيات والمدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا.
  • الملاحقات القضائية القائمة على النوع الاجتماعي المرتبطة بقضايا حرية التعبير على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.
  • التمييز والعنف القائمين على النوع الاجتماعي بحق النساء المنتميات للأقليات في المنطقة.
  • تأثير العسكرة المتزايدة على أوضاع المرأة وقضايا النوع الاجتماعي.
  • الإجراءات الجماعية والمبادرات الجديدة والتعبئة الاجتماعية التي تتعامل مع التمييز والعنف القائمين على النوع الاجتماعي.
  • استخدام النوع الاجتماعي وأجساد النساء في النزاعات المسلحة.
  • أنماط المقاومة التي تمارسها النساء في سياقات النزاع، وما بعد النزاع في المنطقة.
  • انخراط النساء في الحراك السياسي أثناء الانتفاضات العربية وبعدها، وكذلك مشاركتهن في عمليات الانتقال السياسي.
  • القضايا الجندرية وانتهاكات حقوق المرأة داخل المجتمع المدني نفسه.
  • خطابات الجماعات والمؤسسات الدينية الإسلامية حول قضايا المرأة والنوع الاجتماعي.
  • استغلال الأنظمة الاستبدادية للخطابات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي وحقوق المرأة.
  • الجدل المسار حديثًا حول قوانين الأسرة في دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا.
  • عمليات ومحاولات «جندرة» خطابات وحركات حقوق الإنسان في المنطقة بعد عام 2011 (على سبيل المثال، الجدل حول إلى مدى أصبحت منظمات أو حركات حقوق الإنسان أكثر حساسية جندرية ونشاطًا في مجال حقوق المرأة وقضايا النوع الاجتماعي بعد 2011).

لقراءة المزيد عن رواق عربي وتاريخ الدورية وطباعتها منذ 1996 ونسختها الإلكترونية الحالية، فضلًا عن الأدلة الإرشادية الخاصة بالنشر في الدورية، يُرجى الرجوع إلى هذا الرابط، كما يرجى ملاحظة أن الدراسات المقدمة غير الملتزمة بقواعد الكتابة المذكورة بهذا بالرابط ولا بقواعد البنية البحثية الرئيسية (السؤال البحثي، الإطار النظري، المنهجية البحثية) لن يتم النظر إليها أو إشراكها في عملية الانتقاء من أجل الإرسال للمحكمين.

Read this post in: English

اظهر المزيد
زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى