Call for Papers: ‘Counterterrorism’ and Human Rights, Twenty Years after 9/11

Two decades have passed since the attacks of 11 September 2001 in New York and other parts of the United States. Significant changes in international politics and several ‘wars on terror’ have since occurred, with – most likely – more yet to come.  These changes in the international political scene were mirrored to a substantial extent within academia, as ‘terrorism studies’ underwent a rapid expansion from being a minor subfield under security studies to an almost-standalone discipline in its own right. Degrees focusing on terrorism, from the bachelor to doctoral levels, have grown in popularity among students alongside a corresponding growth in funding from governments and institutions. An entire field of research on terrorism and counterterrorism, countering violent extremism (CVE), and preventing violent extremism (PVE) now exists, and will be staying with us for the foreseeable future.

Although terrorism studies and related fields have indeed undergone an evolution over the past two decades, critical studies show that there are serious epistemological, methodological, and political-normative issues in academic disciplines focused on terrorism. Within this context, the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region has become a focal point for scholars of terrorism as well as governments waging ‘wars on terror’, dating back to the United States’ invasion of Afghanistan in the months after  9/11 and its invasion of Iraq soon thereafter.

Under the theme ‘Counterterrorism and Human Rights, Twenty Years after 9/11’, Rowaq Arabi, a double-blind peer-reviewed journal specialised in human rights studies, calls for original research exploring critical approaches to the study of terrorism, counterterrorism, human rights violations, radicalisation and authoritarianism in the MENA region. Papers of 5000-7000 words should be submitted by email to rowaq.editors@cihrs.org no later than midnight of 23 May 2021. Submissions should consist of two separate files: an anonymised complete manuscript, and a cover page that has the manuscript’s title, author’s name and details, and a 150-word abstract. Articles with the most relevant content and of the highest quality will be selected and sent for peer-review. Once published, authors will be financially compensated for their contributions.

Rowaq Arabi suggests the following sub-topics for research, while welcoming other suggestions relevant to the main theme of this call:

  • The evolution of the definition of terrorism within academia, and within state terrorism legislation, over the last twenty years.
  • The role of human rights in the international community’s responses to terrorism over the past two decades.
  • The underlying or root causes of international and domestic terrorism, and the investigation of corollaries or links between repressive human rights policies and radicalisation/extremism, be it political and/or religious.
  • The intersection between the geopolitical changes in the MENA region following the 9/11 attacks and the Arab Spring uprisings a decade later.
  • The evolution of the international and regional normative and institutional frameworks of counterterrorism and their impact on human rights, including an assessment of the work of the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms while countering terrorism and of the UN Security Council Counter-Terrorism Executive Directorate (CTED); and the evolution of UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy (GCTS), and the mushrooming of UN counterterrorism architecture in New York.
  • Discussing the human rights implications of key policies and practices that escalated or gained prominence in the global war on terrorism, including targeted killings, drone strikes, arbitrary detention, and extradition and rendition of suspected terrorists.
  • Many states have put great emphasis on extraordinary security measures that transformed constitutional and legal orders into permanent states of exception. Rowaq Arabi welcomes studies that locate this global debate within the political and legal dynamics of the MENA region, including the use of counterterrorism policies and discourses to serve the survival strategies of ruling governments, and how this impacts states’ capacity to address terrorism and radicalisation.
  • Examining the interrelationship between Western democratic states and authoritarian governments in the MENA region.  Western states have tended to condone human rights violations by authoritarian allies, if such violations occur within the context of fighting terrorism. At the same time, Western democracies have eroded basic freedoms in their own countries in the name of countering terrorism; with a disproportionate impact on the rights of Muslims or people of Arab origins living in the West, and on refugees and migrants.
  • Comparative case studies that analyse the proliferation of counterterrorism and security laws in the MENA region and how they affect human rights in practice.
  • The economic dimension as a root cause of terrorism and/or government spending in the MENA region on counterterrorism in comparison to spending on development and poverty alleviation.
  • The relation, if any, between the Arab Spring uprisings and the rise of terrorism in general, and ISIS in particular.
  • The implications of the ‘war on terror’ on women and minorities in the region.

To read more about Rowaq Arabi, its history in print since 1996 and its ongoing online transition, in addition to our publication guidelines, please refer to this link.

Read this post in: العربية

Show More
Back to top button

دعوة لتقديم أبحاث: «مكافحة الإرهاب» وحقوق الإنسان… عشرون عامًا بعد الحادي عشر من سبتمبر

مرّ عشرون عامًا على هجمات الحادي عشر من سبتمبر 2001 في نيويورك ومناطق أخرى من الولايات المتحدة، وطرأت تغيرات كبيرة في السياسة الدولية وشُنت عدّة موجات من «الحرب على الإرهاب» منذ ذلك الحين، مع استمرار توقع انطلاق موجات جديدة في المستقبل. انعكست هذه التغيرات على الساحة الدولية بدرجة كبيرة على الدوائر الأكاديمية؛ إذ توسعت «دراسات الإرهاب» من كونها حقل معرفي صغير يندرج ضمن دراسات الأمن، إلى تخصص كبير شبه مستقل قائم بذاته. وزادت الشهادات الجامعية بهذا المجال، من درجة البكالوريوس وحتى الدكتواره، وذاع صيتها في أوساط الطلاب، في نمو موازٍ لتمويل هذه الدراسات من الحكومات والمؤسسات المعنية. إنه حقل بحثي كامل يُعنى بالإرهاب ومكافحته، ومناوئة التطرف العنيف والوقاية منه، قائم حاليًا، ويبدو أنه سيستمر وجوده معنا في المستقبل المنظور.

غير أنه رغم حدوث طفرة وتطور كبير في دراسات الإرهاب والحقول المعرفية ذات الصلة على مدار العقدين الماضيين، تُظهر الدراسات النقدية وجود مشكلات مفاهيمية ومنهجية وقيمية-سياسية عديدة في التخصصات الأكاديمية التي تركز على الإرهاب. وفي هذا السياق، نجد منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا نطاقًا يركز عليه الباحثين المعنيين بالإرهاب والحكومات التي تشن حروبًا عليه، بدءً من غزو الولايات المتحدة لأفغانستان في الشهور التالية على هجمات 11 سبتمبر وغزوها للعراق بعد ذلك بقليل.

تحت عنوان «مكافحة الإرهاب وحقوق الإنسان… عشرون عامًا بعد الحادي عشر من سبتمبر»، تتقدم دورية رواق عربي، وهي دورية فصلية محكّمة تُعنى بدراسات حقوق الإنسان، بدعوة لتقديم أبحاث أصلية تستكشف النُهج الناقدة لدراسة الإرهاب ومكافحة الإرهاب وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والتطرف والسلطوية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. وعليه تقدم الأوراق البحثية في حدود 5000 إلى 7000 كلمة إلى البريد الإليكتروني التالي: rowaq.editors@cihrs.org في موعد غايته منتصف ليلة 23 مايو 2021. يجب أن تتألف الأوراق البحثية المُقدمة من ملفين منفصلين: نص البحث الكامل مع إخفاء هوية المؤلف، وصفحة غلاف تحتوي على عنوان البحث واسم وبيانات المؤلف وخلاصة من 150 كلمة. سيتم انتقاء أفضل الأبحاث وأكثرها صلة بالموضوع، ليتم إرسالها إلى لجنة التحكيم. وبمجرد النشر؛ سيحصل المؤلفون على مكافأة مالية مقابل مساهماتهم.

تقترح رواق عربي الموضوعات الفرعية التالية لتكون مجالًا للبحث، فيما تُرحب بالمقترحات الأخرى ذات الصلة بالموضوع الرئيسي لهذه الدعوة:

  • تطورات تعريف الإرهاب في الدوائر الأكاديمية، وكذلك في سياق تشريعات الدول لمكافحة الإرهاب على مدار السنوات العشرين الماضية.
  • دور حقوق الإنسان في تعامل المجتمع الدولي مع الإرهاب على مدار العقدين الماضيين.
  • الأسباب الجذرية أو العميقة للإرهاب الدولي والمحلي، والتحقيق في الصلات بين سياسات قمع حقوق الإنسان والتطرف، سواءً كان سياسيًا أو دينيًا.
  • التقاطع بين التغيرات الجيوسياسية في المنطقة بعد هجمات 11 سبتمبر وبين الانتفاضات العربية التي اندلعت بعد عِقد من الهجمات.
  • تطور الأطر القيمية والمؤسسية، الدولية والإقليمية، لمكافحة الإرهاب وأثرها على حقوق الإنسان، بما يشمل تقييم نشاط ونتاج عمل مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص المعني بتعزيز وحماية حقوق الإنسان والحريات الأساسية أثناء مكافحة الإرهاب، وأعمال المديرية التنفيذية للجنة مكافحة الإرهاب بمجلس الأمن، وتطور استراتيجية مكافحة الإرهاب العالمية للأمم المتحدة، وبُنى مكافحة الإرهاب الجديدة والآخذة في التطور ضمن منظومة الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك.
  • مناقشة تداعيات السياسات والممارسات الأساسية على حقوق الإنسان، والتي برزت وتصاعدت أثناء الحرب العالمية على الإرهاب، بما يشمل وقائع الاستهداف بالقتل (الاغتيالات) وغارات الطائرات بدون طيار، والاحتجاز التعسفي، والتسليم والإعادة القسرية للمشتبهين بالإرهاب.
  • شددت دول كثيرة على اعتماد تدابير أمنية استثنائية حوّلت من النظم الدستورية والقانونية إلى حالة استثناء دائمة ومستمرة. ترحب رواق عربي بالدراسات التي تتناول هذا النقاش العالمي في سياق الديناميات السياسية والقانونية بالشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، بما يشمل استغلال سياسات وخطابات مكافحة الإرهاب في خدمة استراتيجيات ترسيخ بقاء الحكومات السلطوية، وكيفية تأثير ذلك على قدرة الدول على التصدي للإرهاب والتطرف.
  • فحص العلاقات والصلات بين الدول الديمقراطية الغربية والحكومات السلطوية بالمنطقة، إذ نزعت الدول الغربية إلى تقبل انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي يرتكبها الحلفاء السلطويون في حال وقوع هذه الانتهاكات في سياق مكافحة الإرهاب. وفي الوقت نفسه، تآكلت بالفعل بعض الحريات الأساسية في الديمقراطيات الغربية تحت مسمى مكافحة الإرهاب، وكان التأثير قويًا على حقوق المسلمين والأشخاص المنحدرين من أصول عربية في الغرب، وعلى اللاجئين والمهاجرين عامة.
  • دراسات مقارنة تحلل انتشار قوانين مكافحة الإرهاب في المنطقة وكيفة تأثيرها على حقوق الإنسان من حيث الممارسة.
  • البُعد الاقتصادي كسبب جذري للإرهاب وإنفاق الحكومات في المنطقة على مكافحته مقارنة بالإنفاق على التنمية والقضاء على الفقر.
  • العلاقة –إن وُجدت– بين التفاعلات المصاحبة للانتفاضات العربية وتنامي الإرهاب بشكل عام، وكذلك تفسير أسباب ظهور تنظيم داعش في بعض البلدان العربية عقب تلك الانتفاضات.
  • تداعيات الحرب على الإرهاب على النساء والأقليات في المنطقة.

لقراءة المزيد عن رواق عربي وتاريخ الدورية وطباعتها منذ 1996 ونسختها الإلكترونية الحالية، فضلًا عن الأدلة الإرشادية الخاصة بالنشر في الدورية، يُرجى الرجوع إلى هذا الرابط.

Read this post in: English

اظهر المزيد
زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى