Book Reviews

Book Review: The Roots of Revolt by Angela Joya

Download this article as PDF

The popular demands ‘bread, freedom and social justice’, which resonated across the Egyptian streets in 2011, illustrate how dire economic conditions contributed to the downfall of then president Hosni Mubarak. Indeed, academic literature soon pointed out how youth unemployment and wealth inequality had fuelled the 2011 revolution.[1] In The Roots of Revolt, Angela Joya moves beyond this literature by exploring the underlying causes of Egypt’s faltering economy on the eve of the Arab Spring. The author, an assistant professor at the University of Oregon, convincingly argues that Egypt’s persisting economic predicaments find their origins in the neoliberal policies of the preceding decades.

Joya coherently constructs her argument across seven chapters, in which she outlines an economic history of Egypt starting from the country’s formal independence in 1922 to the ouster of Mubarak in 2011. In these chapters, sound analyses based on theories of political economy and statistics are aptly interwoven with and supported by anecdotal evidence garnered during fieldwork in thirteen out of Egypt’s twenty-seven governorates between 2005 and 2008. Since conducting widespread surveys remains difficult in Egypt, the sources of The Roots of Revolt are one of the features that make the book stand out.

As the author explains, the stage for a breakthrough of a neoliberal capitalist class was already set under the rule of Gamal Abdel Nasser, who assumed Egypt’s presidency following the revolution of 1952. To gain de facto independence from the former colonial powers, Nasser created a state-planned economy, introducing reforms that nationalised businesses, redistributed land and strengthened social protection for Egypt’s working classes. Nonetheless, Nasser’s rule failed to break the power of the landlords, due to the government’s inability to implement reforms throughout Egypt. Eventually geopolitical events, particularly the failed union with Syria, the depleting war in Yemen (1962-1967) and the defeat by Israel in 1967, hastened the demise of ‘Arab socialism’. This led Anwar Sadat, who became Egypt’s president in 1970, to steer away from Nasserism.

Instead, Sadat opted for a process of liberalisation, also known as infitah or ‘openness’. Following the initial success of the 1973 October War against Israel, a favourable political climate allowed Sadat to push through economic reforms and align Egypt with the United States and Saudi Arabia. However, the infitah mainly benefited the propertied classes who, after having endured the Nasserist revolution, were now able to reclaim their privileges. At the same time, the cost of living rose and Egypt’s lower classes suffered. When the government acted upon the recommendation of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and cut subsidies on basic food products in 1977, the notorious Bread Intifada broke out, leading to the deaths of dozens of protesters.

The general discontent with Sadat’s rule played into the hands of Islamists, who assassinated the president in 1981. Given the controversial nature of the infitah, it comes as no surprise that Hosni Mubarak, who succeeded Sadat as president, initially showed reluctance to press on the liberalising agenda. However, the economic crisis of the 1980s hit Egypt hard, and forced Mubarak to seek a gradual rapprochement with the IMF and the World Bank. These financial institutions urged reforms in accordance with the Washington Consensus of 1989, a doctrine that proposes a set of neoliberal policy recommendations, including privatisation, deregulation and tax reduction, as the solution to the economic malaise of postcolonial development states.

In the first half of the 1990s, the government followed up on the recommendations with Egypt’s Economic Reform and Structural Adjustment Program, which signalled ‘a break from “business as usual” in Egyptian economic policy.’[2] Although neoliberal reforms continued, poverty briefly dropped under the premiership of Kamal al-Ganzouri (1996-1999), which gained him the title ‘Minister of the Poor’. Regardless, at the start of the twenty-first century, poverty was on the rise again. New neoliberal reforms, spearheaded by the president’s son Gamal Mubarak, led to the surge of what Joya characterises as ‘accumulation by dispossession’, or a set of processes that led to the concentration of wealth in the hands of a few at the expense of the many.[3] It is important to note that the reforms did not merely benefitted the economic liberals. Joya describes two other factions that managed to adapt themselves to the new economic realities: the military and the Muslim Brotherhood.

First, the Egyptian military’s development into a faction of the capitalist class is explained by the author. Although initially one of Egypt’s strongest institutions under Nasser, the defeat in the Six-Day War drastically reduced the military’s political influence. Sadat consequently reduced the armed forces’ size and budget, whilst involving the military in the infitah economy as a coup-proofing strategy. After all, providing financial autonomy to the armed forces allowed Sadat to demilitarise the state whilst avoiding a total estrangement between the government and the army. Under Mubarak, the author contends, the military saw both its economic and political influence grow again, so that by the time of the food crisis in 2007, the military could consolidate its popular support and differentiate itself from the regime. Or as Joya puts it: ‘While the army was baking bread for the poor, the regime’s internal security services were clamping down on protesters and striking workers.’[4]

The Muslim Brotherhood managed to adapt as well, establishing itself as an aspiring faction of the capitalist class. Following a failed assassination attempt on president Nasser in 1954, the regime clamped down on the Muslim Brotherhood, forcing many members into exile. Again, it was Sadat’s infitah policy that opened the door for economic participation by targeting exiled Muslim Brothers in Gulf states to reel in investments. Following the dismantling of the Nasserist state, the Muslim Brotherhood stepped in to fill the void, providing social services to the lower classes that were left in the cold by the neoliberal reforms of Sadat and Mubarak. Evidentially, the latter’s downfall in 2011 only widened the power vacuum. However, the Muslim Brotherhood’s consequential attempt to further increase its influence interfered with the interests of the military. While post-2011 events fall outside the scope of the book, any reader who is familiar with what happened in 2013 understands the implications of Joya’s analysis.

While both the military and the Muslim Brotherhood played a significant role in the events of 2011, neither instigated the demonstrations. Instead, the protests that toppled the regime started at the grass-roots level. In the book’s last two chapters, the author explains how neoliberal policies ultimately alienated Egypt’s working class and farmers from the regime. Dispossession in the countryside, illustrated by forced evictions and steep rents, resulted in land-related violence and the erosion of rural support for the regime. By the late 2000s, following widespread privatisations and labour market reforms, class conflicts equally intensified in Egypt’s industrial cities, where a new generation of workers increasingly went on strike, signalling ‘the beginning of the end of the Mubarak regime.’[5]

While The Roots of Revolt thus provides a deeper understanding of Egypt’s political economy, the book’s merits do not end there. Angela Joya compellingly refutes the presumption that lay at the basis of the policy recommendations of international financial institutions, namely that economic liberalisation necessarily leads to democratisation. This holds consequences for the purported thesis of resilient authoritarianism, according to which the ruling class did not properly implement economic reforms, and co-opted the new business class through corruption and cronyism. Instead, Joya makes a convincing case claiming that this analysis oversimplifies the situation, that neoliberal reforms actually strengthened Egypt’s ruling class, and that in fact it is neoliberalism itself that thwarted genuine attempts at democratisation.

Published in 2020, Joya’s book raises pertinent questions regarding the role of international financial institutions in advancing or obstructing democratisation across the world. It also raises questions concerning the contemporary socioeconomic situation of Egypt. In 2016, the repressive regime of Abdel Fattah el-Sisi secured a three-year IMF loan, in return for subsidy cuts, a currency devaluation and privatisation. On the one hand, Egypt’s unemployment decreased over the past year.[6] At the same time, almost one in three Egyptians live below the poverty line, and an inequality gap remains. A decade after the fall of Mubarak, the roots of revolt still run deep. Joya’s book is a recommendable read for students and professionals with an interest in Egypt’s political economy, and for academics who conduct research on the relationship between neoliberalism and democratisation.

[1] Fahmy, Hazem (2012) ‘An Initial Perspective on “The Winter of Discontent”: The Root Causes of the Egyptian Revolution’, Social Research 79 (2), pp. 349-376, accessed 16 March 2021, https://www.jstor.org/stable/23350069.
[2] Joya, Angela (2020) The Roots of Revolt – A Political Economy of Egypt from Nasser to Mubarak (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press) p. 76.
[3] Harvey, David (2003) The New Imperialism (Oxford: Oxford University Press), p. 145.
[4] Joya, Angela (2020) The Roots of Revolt, p. 135.
[5] Ibid. p. 194.
[6] Accessed on 16 March 2021, https://tradingeconomics.com/egypt/unemployment-rate.

Read this post in: العربية

Show More

Cedric D'Hondt

Associate of the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies. He holds two master's degrees: one in law at KU Leuven, and another in Arab Democracy and Human Rights at the Université Saint-Joseph in Beirut.

Related Articles

Back to top button

مراجعات كتب

مراجعة لكتاب «جذور الثورة» لأنجيلا جويا

حمل هذا المقال كبي دي إف

تُشير المطالب الشعبية «عيش، حرية، عدالة اجتماعية»، والتي تردد صداها في شوارع مصر في 2011، إلى مدى مساهمة الظروف الاقتصادية الوخيمة في سقوط الرئيس حسني مبارك. في الواقع، سارعت الأدبيات الأكاديمية في الإشارة إلى بطالة الشباب وعدم المساواة في توزيع الثروة كأسباب لاندلاع ثورة 2011.[1] إلا أن الكاتبة أنجيلا جويا تتجاوز هذه الأدبيات في كتابها «جذور الثورة»، عبر استكشاف الأسباب الكامنة وراء تداعي الاقتصاد المصري عشية الربيع العربي. وتقدم المؤلفة، التي تشغل منصب أستاذ مساعد في جامعة أوريجون، حججًا مقنعة بأن المآزق الاقتصادية المستمرة في مصر تعود بالأساس للسياسات النيوليبرالية التي اعتُمدت خلال العقود السابقة.

في سبعة فصول، تثبت جويا حجتها بشكل متماسك، معتمدة على معالم التاريخ الاقتصادي لمصر، منذ الاستقلال الرسمي للبلاد في 1922 وصولًا للإطاحة بمبارك في 2011. وفي سبيل ذلك، تستند إلى نظريات الاقتصاد السياسي والإحصاءات، بشكل ملائم مع الأدلة السردية التي تم جمعها خلال العمل الميداني في ثلاث عشرة محافظة مصرية من إجمالي سبع وعشرين، وذلك بين عامي 2005 و2008. وبالنظر إلى استمرار صعوبة إجراء إحصاءات واسعة النطاق في مصر؛ فإن مصادر كتاب «جذور الثورة» هي إحدى السمات التي تجعل منه إصدارًا بارزًا في مجاله.

في البداية، توضح المؤلفة أنه في ظل حكم جمال عبد الناصر، الذي تولى رئاسة مصر في أعقاب ثورة 1952، تمت تهيئة المسرح لصعود الطبقة الرأسمالية النيوليبرالية. فبهدف استقلال مصر فعليًا عن القوى الاستعمارية السابقة؛ أنشأ عبد الناصر اقتصادًا مخططًا للدولة، وأدخل عدة إصلاحات أسفرت عن تأميم الشركات وإعادة توزيع الأراضي وتعزيز الحماية الاجتماعية للطبقات العاملة المصرية. رغم ذلك، أخفق حكم عبد الناصر في كسر شوكة مُلاك الأراضي؛ بسبب عدم قدرة الحكومة على تنفيذ الإصلاحات في جميع أنحاء مصر. في نهاية المطاف، عجّلت الأحداث الجيوسياسية، لاسيما فشل الوحدة مع سوريا وحرب الاستنزاف في اليمن (1962-1967) والهزيمة أمام إسرائيل في 1967، بزوال «الاشتراكية العربية».

تاليًا اتخذ أنور السادات، الذي أصبح رئيسًا لمصر في 1970، خيار القيام بعملية تحرير للاقتصاد عرفت باسم «الانفتاح». في أعقاب النجاح الأولي لحرب أكتوبر 1973 ضد إسرائيل، تمكن السادات من الاستفادة من المناخ السياسي الملائم، ومضي قدمًا في تنفيذ إصلاحات اقتصادية، كما جعل مصر في حالة اصطفاف مع الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمملكة العربية السعودية. استفاد من كل ذلك الطبقة المالكة بشكل أساسي؛ لاستعادة امتيازاتها بعد معاناتها من الثورة الناصرية. بينما في الوقت ذاته، ارتفعت تكلفة المعيشة وعانت الطبقات الأدنى في مصر. وتجلى ذلك حين نفذّت الحكومة توصية صندوق النقد الدولي بخفض دعم المواد الغذائية الأساسية في عام 1977؛ فاندلعت انتفاضة الخبز سئية الصيت، وأسفرت عن مقتل عشرات المحتجين.

وفي ظل السخط العام من حكم السادات، والذي أدى لاغتياله على أيدي الإسلاميين في 1981. ونظرًا للطبيعة المثيرة للجدل للانفتاح؛ لم يكن من المثير للدهشة تردد حسني مبارك، الذي خلف السادات كرئيس، إزاء الضغط من أجل أجندة لتحرير الاقتصاد. إلا أن الأزمة الاقتصادية التي عصفت بمصر خلال الثمانينيات، أجبرت مبارك على السعي لتقارب تدريجي مع صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي. وحثت تلك المؤسسات المالية الحكومة المصرية على إجراء إصلاحات متوافقة مع إجماع واشنطن لعام 1989، والذي اقترح مجموعة من توصيات السياسة النيوليبرالية، من بينها الخصخصة وتحرير الأسواق وتخفيض الضرائب، باعتبارها حلولًا للمأزق الاقتصادي في الدول الإنمائية فيما بعد الاستعمار.

خلال النصف الأول من التسعينيات، تابعت الحكومة التوصيات الخاصة ببرنامج الإصلاح الاقتصادي والتكيف الهيكلي في مصر، والذي كان إيذانًا بـ «قطيعة مع «العمل المعتاد» في السياسة الاقتصادية لمصر».[2] ورغم استمرار الإصلاحات النيوليبرالية؛ شهدت نسبة الفقر انخفاضًا لفترة وجيزة خلال وجود كمال الجنزوري في منصب رئيس الوزراء (1996-1999)، وهو الأمر الذي منحه لقب «وزير الفقراء». وبغض النظر عن ذلك، شهدت بداية القرن الحادي والعشرين ارتفاع نسبة الفقر مجددًا. إذ أدت حزمة الإصلاحات النيوليبرالية الجديدة، بقيادة نجل الرئيس جمال مبارك، إلى طفرة فيما وصفته الكاتبة بأنه «تراكم نزع الملكية»، أو مجموعة من العمليات التي أسفرت عن تركيز الثروة في يد قلة على حساب الأغلبية.[3] ومن المهم ملاحظة أن الإصلاحات لم يستفد منها الليبراليين الاقتصاديين فحسب؛ إذ تقول جويا أن هناك فئتين أخريين تمكنتا من التكيف مع الواقع الاقتصادي الجديد: الجيش وجماعة الإخوان المسلمين.

أولًا، توضح المؤلفة أن الجيش المصري تطور ليغدو فصيلًا من الطبقة الرأسمالية. فرغم كونه أحد أقوى المؤسسات المصرية في عهد عبد الناصر؛ إلا أن هزيمة حرب 1967 قللت بشكل كبير من النفوذ السياسي للجيش. ومن ثم، خفّض السادات حجم وميزانية القوات المسلحة، مع إشراك الجيش في اقتصاد الانفتاح –كاستراتيجية لمنع الانقلاب. بعد كل ذلك، منح توفير الاستقلال المالي للقوات المسلحة القدرة للسادات على تقليص عسكرة الدولة، مع تجنب القطيعة الكاملة بين الحكومة والجيش. وفي ظل حكم مبارك، بحسب المؤلفة، رأى الجيش أن كلا من نفوذه الاقتصادي والسياسي قد عاودا النمو مجددًا؛ لذا تمكن الجيش، في خضم أزمة الغذاء في 2007، من تعزيز ما يناله من الدعم الشعبي وأن يُميّز نفسه عن النظام. أو وفقًا لجويا: «بينما كان الجيش يخبز للفقراء، كانت أجهزة الأمن الداخلي التابعة للنظام تضيق الخناق على المتظاهرين والعمال المضربين عن العمل».[4]

كما تمكنت جماعة الإخوان المسلمين من التكيف بدورها، حيث رسخت نفسها كفصيل طموح من الطبقة الرأسمالية. في أعقاب محاولة فاشلة لاغتيال الرئيس عبد الناصر في 1954، ضيّق النظام الخناق على جماعة الإخوان المسلمين؛ وهو ما أجبر العديد من أعضائها على اللجوء للمنفى. مجددًا، كانت سياسة الانفتاح التي اتبعها السادات هي التي فتحت الباب للمشاركة الاقتصادية؛ باستخدام الإخوان المسلمين المنفيين في دول الخليج لجلب الاستثمارات. وفي أعقاب تفكك الدولة الناصرية؛ تدخلت جماعة الإخوان المسلمين لملء الفراغ، ووفرت الخدمات الاجتماعية للطبقات الفقيرة المهملة كنتيجة للإصلاحات النيوليبرالية التي انتهجها كلا من السادات ومبارك. ومن الجلي أن سقوط الأخير في 2011 قد أدى فقط إلى توسيع الفراغ في السلطة. مع ذلك، فإن المحاولة اللاحقة للإخوان المسلمين لزيادة نفوذها تعارضت مع مصالح الجيش. وفيما تقع أحداث ما بعد عام 2011 خارج نطاق الكتاب؛ فإن أي قاريء على دراية بما شهده عام 2013؛ سيتمكن من استيعاب الآثار المترتبة على تحليل جويا.

من زاوية أخرى، ورغم أن الجيش وجماعة الإخوان المسلمين لعبا دورًا جوهريًا في أحداث 2011، فإن أي منهما لم يُحرّض على التظاهر. بدلًا من ذلك، بدأت الاحتجاجات التي أطاحت بالنظام في الأساس على مستوى القواعد الشعبية. في الفصلين الأخيرين من الكتاب، تُفسّر المؤلفة كيف أدت السياسات النيوليبرالية في نهاية المطاف إلى عزل الطبقة العاملة والفلاحين في مصر عن النظام. لقد أدى نزع الملكية في الريف، الذي تجلى في عمليات الإخلاء القسري والإيجارات الباهظة، إلى أعمال عنف مرتبطة بالأراضي وتآكل الدعم الريفي للنظام. في أواخر العقد الأول من القرن الحالي، وفي أعقاب عمليات الخصخصة واسعة النطاق وإصلاحات في سوق العمل؛ اشتدت الصراعات الطبقية بالقدر نفسه في المدن الصناعية المصرية، حيث أصبح هناك جيل جديد من العمال يُقدم على الإضرابات بشكل متزايد، الأمر الذي كان بمثابة إشارة على «بداية نهاية نظام مبارك».[5]

إن كتاب جذور الثورة بينما يتيح فهمًا أعمق للاقتصاد السياسي المصري؛ إلا أن مزاياه لا تقف عند هذا الحد، إذ تدحض آنجيلا جويا –بشكل حازم– الافتراضات القائمة على أساس توصيات السياسة الصادرة عن المؤسسات المالية الدولية، وتحديدًا الافتراض بأن تحرير الاقتصاد يؤدي بالضرورة إلى التحول الديمقراطي. ويحمل هذا التحليل في طياته تداعيات مرتبطة بالنظرية المزعومة للسلطوية المرنة، ووفقًا لها، لم تنفذ الطبقة الحاكمة الإصلاحات الاقتصادية كما ينبغي، فضلًا عن كونها استمالت فئة جديدة من رجال الأعمال من خلال الفساد والمحسوبية. بدلًا من ذلك، تقدم جويا حجة مقنعة تدعي أن هذا التحليل يبالغ في تبسيط الوضع، وأن الإصلاحات النيوليبرالية عززت بالفعل الطبقة الحاكمة في مصر، وأن النيوليبرالية نفسها هي التي أحبطت في الواقع المساعي الحقيقية لإرساء الديمقراطية.

يُثير كتاب جويا، المنشور في عام 2020، أسئلة وثيقة الصلة بدور المؤسسات المالية الدولية في دفع أو عرقلة عملية التحول الديمقراطي في جميع أنحاء العالم. كما يطرح أسئلة تتعلق بالوضع الاقتصادي والاجتماعي المعاصر في مصر. في عام 2016، تمكّن النظام القمعي لعبد الفتاح السيسي من تأمين قرض مدته ثلاث سنوات من صندوق النقد الدولي، وذلك في مقابل خفض الدعم وتخفيض قيمة العملة والخصخصة. من ناحية، فإن نسبة البطالة في مصر شهدت انخفاضًا خلال العام الماضي.[6] وفي الوقت ذاته، يعيش واحد من كل ثلاثة مصريين تقريبًا تحت خط الفقر، ولا تزال هناك فجوة في عدم المساواة. وهكذا، بعد مرور عقد كامل على سقوط مبارك، فإن جذور الثورة لا تزال كامنة في الأعماق. وفي هذا الإطار، نوصي بقراءة كتاب جويا للطلاب والمهنيين المهتمين بالاقتصاد السياسي المصري، وكذلك الأكاديميين الذين تتناول أبحاثهم العلاقة بين النيوليبرالية والتحول الديمقراطي.

[1] فهمي، حازم (2012). منظور أولي تجاه «شتاء السخط»: الأسباب الجذرية للثورة المصرية (An Initial Perspective on «The Winter of Discontent»: The Root Causes of the Egyptian Revolution). البحوث الاجتماعية 79 (2). ص ص 349-376. تاريخ الاطلاع في 16 مارس 2021، https://www.jstor.org/stable/23350069.
[2] جويا، أنجيلا (2020). جذور الثورة – الاقتصاد السياسي لمصر من عبد الناصر حتى مبارك (The Roots of Revolt – A Political Economy of Egypt from Nasser to Mubarak). (كامبريدج: مطبوعات جامعة كامبريدج). ص 76.
[3] هارفي، ديفيد (2003). الإمبريالية الجديدة (The New Imperialism). (أوكسفورد: مطبوعات جامعة أوكسفورد). ص 145
[4] جويا، أنجيلا (2020). جذور الثورة.
[5] المصدر السابق. ص 194.
[6] تاريخ الاطلاع في 16 مارس 2021، https://tradingeconomics.com/egypt/unemployment-rate.

Read this post in: English

اظهر المزيد

سيدريك دهونت

حقوقي بمركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان وحاصل على درجتي ماجستير: الأولى في القانون من جامعة كي يو لوفن، ,وأخرى في الديمقراطية العربية وحقوق الإنسان من جامعة سان جوزيف ببيروت.

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى