Book Reviews

Book Review: The Islamic Question before the United Nations Human Rights Committee by Yadh Ben Achour

Download this article as PDF

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights and subsequent instruments of international human rights law are meant to provide protection for all people against human rights violations. Yet,  the universality of these rights has often been disputed in many Muslim states, which raises the question of the compatibility between Islam, as a religion, and universal human rights values.

In his book, The Islamic Question before the United Nations Human Rights Committee[1], a series of six online seminars given to the Centre for European Legal Studies on Macro-Crime, renowned jurist Yadh Ben Achour, an expert on Islamic studies  and member of the United Nations Human Rights Committee, has the necessary legal and cultural  expertise to go beyond theoretical studies of Islam into the practical dimensions of analysing the interaction (often friction) between human rights in their universality and cultural and religious heritages in Muslim countries. Indeed, some religious laws and traditions in many Muslim states are seen by the Committee as an obstacle to adequate implementation of human rights, mainly on key issues such as separation between religion and the state, the position of women, abortion, the role of Sharia, apostasy, religious and sexual minorities, and gender equality. These rights are mostly defined within specific religious and cultural boundaries.

Nevertheless, we cannot say that all Muslim countries follow the same approach when dealing with religion and human rights. The author divides them, according to their national constitutions, into four categories:

  • The state of religion: Under this heading he puts Saudi Arabia, whose constitution is based solely on ‘the Book of Almighty God, the Holy Koran and the Sunna of the Prophet’.
  • Islamic republics: Countries, such as Mauritania and Pakistan, that adopt republican rules (elections, civil institutions, etc…) but their principles and rules are derived from the Islamic legal system.
  • The systems of ‘state religion’: Including countries like Algeria, Jordan and Egypt, these are countries where the legal system is both general and ambiguous, varying from ‘extensive Islamisation’ in some countries to a relatively secular one in others. Here, the Committee’s position is clear:  Declaring one main religion (Islam here) must not – by any means –  imply ‘any discrimination against adherents to other religions or non-believers’.
  • ‘Secular’ systems: Countries like Turkey which had undergone a secular revolution in the 1920s with Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, or those countries that used to belong to the Soviet Union, like Azerbaijan or Turkmenistan, which have declared themselves ‘secular countries’. Turkey, for instance, positions Islam as a ‘privileged religion’ and understands secularism not as the separation between state and religion, but as a way to bring religion under the control and the authority of the state.

However, in Muslim states there is often a discrepancy between the provisions enshrined in their constitution and the legal system as it is practiced. Often, the latter not only impedes religious freedom, but it is also used as a Sword of Damocles, repressing ‘political dissents, humanists, non-believers or any religious thinker who expresses different theological views than the State sponsored religion’.[2]

Furthermore, the ratification of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights[3] by most Muslim states has not guaranteed their compliance with all its provisions. They have always made reservations under the pretext that some rights prejudice the Islamic Sharia, thus revealing the rift between their legal systems and freedoms and rights established in the Covenant.

While ensuring that states neither fail to meet their human rights obligations nor have hostile conduct towards the freedom of religion and religious minorities, the Committee has another mission: Protecting Islam as a religion (and as a community), with reference to article (18)[4] and other articles of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. Yet, the protection of Islamic religious communities in European countries, for instance, is not an easy task. While Muslim communities are often a source of suspicion for having some radical groups among them, they are often themselves victims of exclusion, hate speech, and xenophobia.

Ben Achour admits that it is sometimes difficult for a decision to be  made within the Committee concerning the protection of Muslim minorities in Europe. Take for instance the niqab or full face veil. France adopted a law in 2010 which stipulated that ‘no-one, in public spaces, shall wear any article intended to conceal the face’.[5] The French state raised, among other rationales, security concerns. Besides, some intellectuals see the full face covering as a sign of women’s oppression and contrary to the principles of secularism, an ideal highly regarded in France.

When presented with the case of two French women who were fined for donning the niqab, the Committee adjudicated, in July 2018, that France had violated their rights to religious freedom because wearing the full veil is customary for a segment of the Muslim faithful, and that the state party (here France) had not respected a personal choice and a religious belief, a decision that caused dissent among some members of the Committee. José Santos Pais, an eminent member, has a different opinion. For him, the niqab is not a religious obligation, it is rather ‘a religious custom’. Besides, in the context of international terrorism, it is vital to have one’s face uncovered to facilitate people’s identification, which would prevent any fraud.

Not only does Ben Achour agree with Pais, but he also adds another argument against the decision of the Committee, considered as ‘extremely tolerant’. Wearing the niqab, for him, ‘constitutes in itself a violation of the secular and democratic republican order of France’.

Thus, we note that there are significant challenges facing the Committee when dealing with Muslim communities in some Western countries, such as differentiating between a religious custom and a religious obligation or defining the limits beyond which religious freedom undermines or threatens other citizens or the secular nature of societies.

Nevertheless, the Covenant’s provisions about rights are primarily violated in Muslim states where religious freedom is almost inexistent and apostasy is severely punishable (the death penalty in Saudi Arabia or Pakistan, the dissolution of Nasr Hamed Abuzayd’s marriage in Egypt). The rights of women are often trampled upon in societies that have a patriarchal concept of the family. Genital mutilation of girls, marital rape, domestic violence and ‘honour’ killings are common practices in many states.

Furthermore, traditions often have more impact than laws. In Djibouti, for instance, despite measures taken by the government to prohibit genital mutilation, ‘93 per cent of women of childbearing age have undergone it’. In Pakistan, the Criminal Law Act (2004) has not changed the judicial mind-set nor has it stopped ‘honour’ crimes.[6]

Trapped in fundamentalist interpretations of religion and archaic customs, Muslim countries contain a gap between the use of religion to justify political repression and the universality of human rights advocated by the Committee.

 However, according to Ben Achour, the Committee should be proud of the work it has done with Muslim countries and communities, as it has always balanced between protecting Muslim and other religious minorities while monitoring and punishing states that violate the rights enshrined in the Covenant. Yet, he recognises that the Committee has some weak spots: its difficulty in dealing with ‘quasi-genetic conception of religion’ in Muslim states and societies often leads to an enduring friction with the provisions of the Covenant despite the reiterations of the same recommendations made to states. Besides, there is sometimes extensive interpretation on the part of the Committee toward specific provisions of the Covenant. This interpretation, according to the author, does not always reflect universality but rather a Western set of morals, rights and freedoms. Thus, the ‘pedagogy’ of the Committee should partly consist in taking into consideration the plurality of societies and the specificity of each nation in order to be efficient in its task. Here again, the reader becomes puzzled: How can we discern differences between universal human rights and Western values and morals in the work of the Committee and all other (universal) human rights provisions?

Despite increasing exceptionalism claims, mainly from Muslim states, and sometimes given as a pretext for authoritarianism, one must, I think, bear in mind two main considerations. The first is that these universal human rights values are enshrined in the Universal Declaration for Human Rights (1948) as a moral and political response to the atrocities of two devastating World Wars, when signatory Western and Eastern states expressed their faith ‘in the dignity and worth in all persons’ everywhere. Furthermore, all human beings, whether in Muslim states or elsewhere, can be victims of rights’ violations and injustices. Hence the need for everyone who believes in the necessity of achieving dignity, justice and peace ‘for all people and nations’ to help anchor these values. Anchoring universal human rights values shall be the objective of the Committee in Muslim states and elsewhere.

[1] The Human Rights Committee monitors states’ adherence to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.
[2] Shaheed Ahmed (2018) ‘Report of the Special Rapporteur on freedom of religion and belief,’ Human Rights Council, Thirty-seventh session, 26 February -23 March.
[3] The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights is a multilateral treaty adopted by the UN General Assembly Resolution 2200 on 16 December 1966 and entered into force from 23 March 1973.
[4] ‘Everyone shall have the right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion’
[5] CNN Wire Staff (2010) ‘French Senate approves burqa ban’, CNN, 15 September, accessed 1 November 2021, http://edition.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/europe/09/14/france.burqa.ban/index.html.
[6] Khan, Aleena (2020) ‘ “Honour” killings in Pakistan: Judicial and Legal Treatment of the Crime: A Feminist Perspective’, Lums Law Journal (7), accessed 1 November 2021, https://sahsol.lums.edu.pk/law-journal/%E2%80%98honour%E2%80%99-killings-pakistan-judicial-and-legal-treatment-crime-feminist-perspective.

Read this post in: العربية

Show More

Massaoud Romdhani

A member of the Executive Committee of EuroMed Rights, and the former Chairperson of the Tunisian Forum on Economic and Social Rights.

Related Articles

Back to top button

مراجعات كتب

مراجعة كتاب: المسألة الإسلامية أمام لجنة الأمم المتحدة المعنية بحقوق الإنسان لعياض بن عاشور

حمل هذا المقال كبي دي إف

يُعني الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان، وما جاء على أثره من صكوك متصلة بالقانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان، بتأمين الحماية لجميع الناس من الانتهاكات التي تمسّ حقوق الإنسان الواجبة لهم. ومع ذلك، غالبًا ما يجري تعطيل الطابع العالمي الذي يَسِم هذه الحقوق في العديد من الدول الإسلامية، ما يثير تساؤلًا بشأن مدى التوافق بين الإسلام، بوصفه دينًا، والقيم العالمية التي تكتسيها حقوق الإنسان.

في هذا الكتاب، المسألة الإسلامية أمام لجنة الأمم المتحدة المعنية بحقوق الإنسان،[1] الذي يضم ست حلقات دراسية عُقدت عبر شبكة الإنترنت مع المركز الأوروبي للدراسات القانونية للجريمة الكبرى، يملك فقيه القانون المعروف عياض بن عاشور، الخبير في الدراسات الإسلامية والعضو في لجنة حقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة، الدراية القانونية والثقافية اللازمة التي تيسّر له تجاوز الدراسات النظرية التي تتناول الإسلام والخوض في الأبعاد العملية التي ينطوي عليها تحليل التفاعل (والتوتر في حالات كثيرة) بين حقوق الإنسان بطابعها العالمي والميراث الثقافي والديني في البلدان الإسلامية. وفي واقع الأمر، تنظر اللجنة إلى بعض القوانين والعادات الدينية السارية في العديد من الدول الإسلامية باعتبارها عقبة في سبيل إعمال حقوق الإنسان إعمالًا وافيًا، خاصةً فيما يتصل بمسائل محورية من قبيل الفصل بين الدين والدولة، ووضع المرأة، والإجهاض، ودور الشريعة، والردة، والأقليات الدينية والجنسية والمساواة بين الرجل والمرأة. وغالبًا ما تُعرّف هذه الحقوق ضمن حدود دينية وثقافية محددة.

رغم ذلك، ليس في وسعنا القول أن جميع البلدان الإسلامية تتبع النهج نفسه حينما تتعامل مع الدين وحقوق الإنسان؛ فالمؤلف يقسم هذه البلدان حسب دساتيرها الوطنية إلى أربع فئات:

  • دولة الدين: يضع المؤلف تحت هذا العنوان السعودية، والتي يستند دستورها حصرًا إلى «كتاب الله تعالى وسنة رسوله».
  • الجمهوريات الإسلامية: من قبيل موريتانيا وباكستان، وتتبنّى هذه البلدان قواعد الجمهورية (الانتخابات، والمؤسسات المدنية، وغيرها) ولكنها تستمد مبادئها وقواعدها من النظام القانوني الإسلامي.
  • أنظمة «دين الدولة»: في هذه البلدان، التي تضم بلدانًا مثل الجزائر والأردن ومصر، يتسم النظام القانوني بعموميته وبالغموض الذي يلفه في آن واحد، حيث يتراوح من «الأسلمة الشاملة» في بعض البلدان إلى نظام علماني نسبيًا في بلدان أخرى. وموقف اللجنة واضح هنا: ينبغي ألا ينطوي الإقرار بدين رئيسي واحد (وهو الإسلام في هذه الحالة) -في أي وجه من الوجوه- على «أي تمييز بحق أتباع الأديان الأخرى أو غير المؤمنين».
  • الأنظمة «العلمانية»: وتضم بلدانًا مثل تركيا التي شهدت ثورة علمانية في العقد الثالث من القرن الماضي بقيادة مصطفى كمال أتاتورك، أو تلك البلدان التي كانت تنتمي إلى الاتحاد السوفييتي، كأذربيجان وتركمنستان، والتي أعلنت نفسها «بلدانًا علمانية». فعلى سبيل المثال، تضع تركيا الإسلام في موضع «الدين الذي يحظى بمكانة متميزة» ولا تُفهم العلمانية على أنها تعني الفصل بين الدين والدولة، وإنما بوصفها طريقة لإخضاع الدين لسيطرة الدولة وسلطتها.

في المقابل، ثمة فرق في الدول الإسلامية بين الأحكام التي تنص عليها دساتيرها ونظامها القانوني من جهة، وكيفية الممارسة في واقعها العملي. ففي حالات ليست بالقليلة، لا يعطّل النظام القانوني حرية الدين فحسب، بل يُستخدم كذلك كما لو كان سيفًا مسلطًا وموجهًا لقمع «المعارضين السياسيين أو أصحاب النزعة الإنسانية أو غير المؤمنين أو أي مفكر ديني يعبّر عن وجهات نظر دينية مغايرة للدين الذي ترعاه الدولة».[2]

فضلًا عن ذلك، لم يضمن تصديق معظم الدول الإسلامية على العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية[3] امتثالها لجميع أحكامه. فقد دأبت هذه الدول على إبداء تحفظاتها على هذا العهد، بحجة أن بعض الحقوق تخلّ بالشريعة الإسلامية، الأمر الذي يكشف الهوة القائمة بين أنظمتها القانونية من جهة، والحريات والحقوق التي يقررها العهد من جهة أخرى.

وبينما تكفل اللجنة عدم تخلف الدول عن الوفاء بالتزامات حقوق الإنسان الواقعة على عاتقها، أو انتهاجها سلوكًا عدائيًا تجاه حرية الدين والأقليات الدينية؛ فإنها تضطلع بمهمة أخرى تتمثل في حماية الإسلام بوصفه دينًا (وبوصفه مجتمعًا)، استنادًا إلى المادة (18)[4] وإلى غيرها من المواد الواردة في العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية. ومع ذلك، لا تُعَدّ حماية الجاليات المسلمة في البلدان الأوروبية، مثلًا، مهمة يسيرة. ففي حين تشكّل الجاليات المسلمة في حالات كثيرة مصدرًا للاشتباه في احتضانها بعض الجماعات الراديكالية بين ظهرانيها، فهي غالبًا ما تكون هي نفسها ضحية للإقصاء وخطاب الكراهية وكره الأجانب.

ويقرّ بن عاشور بأنه في بعض الحالات تواجه اللجنة صعوبات في اتخاذ قرار بشأن حماية الأقليات الإسلامية في أوروبا. على سبيل المثال، في مسألة النقاب؛ سنّت فرنسا قانونًا في 2010، ينص على أنه «لا يجوز لأي شخص أن يرتدي، في الأماكن العامة، أي رداء يُقصد به إخفاء الوجه.»[5] وأثارت الدولة الفرنسية المخاوف الأمنية، من جملة أسباب أخرى. وفضلًا عن ذلك، ينظر بعض المفكرين إلى النقاب على أنه إشارة تدل على اضطهاد للمرأة ويتناقض مع مبادئ العلمانية، التي تُعَدّ أحد المُثل التي تحظى بمكانة مرموقة من الاحترام والتقدير في فرنسا.

وقررت اللجنة في 2018، حينما عُرضت عليها قضية امرأتين فرنسيتين فُرضت عليهما الغرامة بسبب ارتدائهما النقاب، أن فرنسا انتهكت حقوق المرأتين في حرية الدين؛ لأن ارتداء النقاب أمر يجري مجرى العرف لدى شريحة من المؤمنين بدين الإسلام، وأن الدولة الطرف (وهي فرنسا في هذه الحالة) لم تحترم الاختيار الشخصي والمعتقد الديني. وقد سبّب هذا القرار خلافًا بين أعضاء اللجنة. فكان لخوسيه سانتوس بايس، وهو عضو بارز من أعضاء اللجنة، رأي مغاير؛ ففي نظره، لا يشكّل النقاب فريضة يمليها الدين، وإنما هو «عرف ديني». علاوةً على ذلك، ففي سياق الإرهاب الدولي، يصبح من المهم والضروري الكشف عن الوجه بهدف تيسير التعرف على الناس، الأمر الذي من شأنه الحيلولة دون حدوث أي تزوير.

وبينما يتفق بن عاشور مع بايس، فإنه يضيف حجة أخرى، في مواجهة القرار الذي اتخذته اللجنة، والذي اعتُبر «متسامحًا للغاية». فبالنسبة له، يشكل ارتداء النقاب «في حد ذاته مخالفة للنظام الجمهوري العلماني والديمقراطي الذي ترعاه فرنسا».

لذا نلاحظ أن ثمة تحديات جسيمة تواجه اللجنة عند تعاملها مع جاليات المسلمين في بعض البلدان الغربية، من قبيل التمييز بين العرف الديني والفريضة الدينية، أو تبيان الحدود التي تتسبب حرية الدين، في حال تخطّتها، في تقويض أو تهديد المواطنين الآخرين أو الطبيعة العلمانية التي تَسِم المجتمعات.

في المقابل، تتعرض الأحكام التي يوردها العهد بشأن الحقوق للانتهاك أساسًا في الدول الإسلامية، التي تكاد تكون معدومة الحرية الدينية، وحيثما تُوقّع عقوبة قاسية على الردة عن الدين (عقوبة الإعدام في السعودية أو باكستان، وفسخ زواج نصر حامد أبو زيد في مصر). وغالبًا ما تُدهس حقوق المرأة بالأقدام في المجتمعات التي تعتمد مفهومًا أبويًا للأسرة؛ فتشويه الأعضاء التناسلية للبنات، والاغتصاب في إطار الزواج، والعنف الأسري، والقتل «بدافع الشرف» كلها ممارسات شائعة في العديد من الدول.

وفضلًا عما تقدم، غالبًا ما يكون للعادات تأثير يفوق أثر القوانين. ففي جيبوتي، مثلًا، ورغم التدابير التي اتخذتها الحكومة لحظر تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية للبنات، «فقد خضعت له ما نسبته 93 في المائة من النساء في سن الإنجاب». وفي باكستان، لم يغير القانون الجنائي (2004) عقلية القضاء ولم يضع حدًا لجرائم القتل «بدافع الشرف».[6]

وتشهد البلدان الإسلامية، التي تجد نفسها حبيسة التفسيرات الأصولية للأعراف الدينية والبائدة، فجوة بين توظيف الدين لتسويغ القمع السياسي، والصفة العالمية التي تكتسيها حقوق الإنسان التي تنبري اللجنة للدفاع عنها.

ومع ذلك، وفقًا لما يراه بن عاشور، ينبغي للجنة الفخر بالعمل الذي أنجزته على صعيد البلدان والمجتمعات الإسلامية، لأنها كانت دائمًا تقيم التوازن بين حماية الأقليات المسلمة وغيرها من الأقليات الدينية، في الوقت ذاته الذي تعمد فيه لمراقبة الدول التي تنتهك الحقوق المقررة في العهد وتفرض العقوبات عليها. ومع ذلك، يقرّ بن عاشور بأن اللجنة يعتريها بعض نقاط الضعف: فغالبًا ما تفضي الصعوبة التي تواجهها في التعامل مع «التصور الذي يكاد يكون متوارثًا للدين» في الدول والمجتمعات الإسلامية إلى توتر دائم لا يهدأ مع أحكام العهد، رغم التأكيدات المُقدَمة للدول على التوصيات نفسها. وفضلًا عن ذلك، تميل اللجنة في بعض الأحيان لاعتماد تفسير موسع بشأن أحكام محددة من أحكام العهد. ووفقًا للمؤلف، لا يعكس هذا التفسير في جميع الأحوال السمة العالمية، وإنما يعكس مجموعة من القيم والحقوق والحريات السائدة في الغرب. ولذلك، يجب أن يتألف «المنهج البيداغوجي» الذي تتبناه اللجنة، في جانب منه، من وضع تعددية المجتمعات وخصوصية كل أمة من الأمم في عين الاعتبار؛ لكي يتيسر لها تأدية المهمة المنوطة بها بكفاءة واقتدار. وهنا، يقع القارئ في حيرة من أمره مرة أخرى: فكيف لنا أن نلاحظ الاختلافات بين حقوق الإنسان العالمية والقيم والأخلاق الغربية، ونستشفّها في عمل اللجنة وجميع أحكام حقوق الإنسان (العالمية) الأخرى؟

ورغم تنامي الادعاءات بشأن الاستثنائية، لا سيما تلك التي ترد من الدول الإسلامية وتساق في بعض الأحيان باعتبارها ذريعة تسوّغ الحكم الاستبدادي، ففي اعتقادي أنه ينبغي ألا يغيب عن بال المرء اعتباران رئيسيان. يكمن الاعتبار الأول في أن هذه القيم العالمية التي تَسِم حقوق الإنسان مكرسة في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان (1948) باعتبارها استجابة أخلاقية وسياسية للفظائع التي اقتُرفت في أثناء الحرب العالميتين المدمرتين، وذلك حينما أعربت دول الغرب والشرق التي وقّعت على هذا الإعلان عن إيمانها «بكرامة الفرد وقدره» في كل مكان. وفضلًا عن ذلك، قد يقع جميع الناس، سواء كانوا في الدول الإسلامية أم في غيرها من الأماكن، ضحايا للانتهاكات التي تمسّ الحقوق الواجبة لهم وللمظالم التي تطالهم. ولذلك، تستدعي الحاجة أن يقدم كل فرد يؤمن بضرورة تحقيق الكرامة والعدالة والسلام «لجميع الشعوب والأمم» العون والمساعدة في إرساء دعائم هذه القيم وتوطيد عراها. وينبغي أن يكون تعزيز حقوق الإنسان العالمية وترسيخها هدفًا تسعى إليه اللجنة في الدول الإسلامية وفي أماكن أخرى.

هذا المقال كتب في الأصل باللغة الانجليزية لرواق عربي

[1] تراقب لجنة حقوق الإنسان مدى التزام الدول بالعهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية.
[2] شهيد، أحمد (2018). تقرير المقرر الخاص المعني بحرية الدين أو المعتقد. مجلس حقوق الإنسان، الجلسة السابعة والثلاثون، 26 فبراير-23 مارس.
[3] يُعَد العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية معاهدة متعددة الأطراف اعتُمدت بموجب قرار الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة 2200 المؤرخ في 16 ديسمبر 1966 ودخلت حيز النفاذ في 23 مارس 1973.
[4] «لكل إنسان الحق في حرية الفكر والوجدان والدين».
[5] طاقم شبكة سي إن إن (2020). مجلس الشيوخ الفرنسي يصادق على حظر النقاب (French Senate approves burqa ban). سي إن إن، 15 سبتمبر، تاريخ الاطلاع 1 نوفمبر 2021، http://edition.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/europe/09/14/france.burqa.ban/index.html.
[6] خان، ألينا (2020). جرائم القتل «بدافع الشرف» في باكستان: تعامل القضاء والقانون مع الجريمة: وجهة نظر نسوية (“Honour” killings in Pakistan: Judicial and Legal Treatment of the Crime: A Feminist Perspective’,). مجلة لومز للقانون (Lums Law Journal) (7). تاريخ الاطلاع 1 نوفمبر 2021،
https://sahsol.lums.edu.pk/law-journal/%E2%80%98honour%E2%80%99-killings-pakistan-judicial-and-legal-treatment-crime-feminist-perspective.

Read this post in: English

اظهر المزيد

مسعود الرمضاني

عضو اللجنة التنفيذية الأورومتوسطية للحقوق، والرئيس السابق للمنتدى التونسي للحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية.

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى